#4. Simple roasted vegetables

Vegetables I really, really like: carrots, tomatoes, sweet peppers.

Vegetables with which I have a more complicated relationship: cruciferous vegetables like cauliflower and broccoli.

I know that cruciferous veggies are good for me and I really, really want to like them… But I don’t particularly enjoy them raw (they’re so tough and bitter), and I’m picky about the steamed versions (basically, they have to be just steamed enough to bring out the color and flavor, but not so steamed that they’ve lost their crunch).

But roasted? I’ll eat them by the bucketful. Roasting is easy. Roasting creates interesting textures. Roasting makes tough veggies tender and brings out flavors that you wouldn’t suspect existed if you’re just eating the raw form.

Trent brought home a whole bunch of cauliflower and broccoli from the grocery store a few days ago, and last night I realized I needed to use them up before they wilted. So I joined them with peppers, carrots, and tomatoes and roasted them in good old Toasty, the little toaster oven that we carry with us in our RV. With some hot sauce, pepper, garlic, and a touch of salt, they were pretty irresistible.

Simple Roasted Vegetables (makes 2-4 servings, depending on how much you want to eat on your own!)

Ingredients:

  • 1 packet fresh cauliflower florets (or get a whole cauliflower and cut into florets)
  • 1.5 cups fresh broccoli florets
  • 2 small tomatoes, each cut in half
  • 1 cup carrot sticks
  • 7-8 small sweet peppers, whole
  • 2-3 tsp olive oil
  • 5-6 whole cloves garlic (optional… I LOVE fresh garlic!)
  • Hot sauce (optional)
  • Salt and pepper (to taste)

Instructions:

  1. Preheat your oven or toaster oven to 375 F.
  2. Assemble all veggies in a bowl.

IMG_3056

3. Add olive oil, hot sauce, and salt and pepper (I like Trader Joe’s Everyday Seasoning) to the veggies. Toss until well coated.

IMG_3058

IMG_3060

4. Pour veggies onto a baking sheet (I like to cover the baking sheet with foil for easy cleaning). Place in oven. Bake for 25 minutes. Check the veggies at 20 minutes.

5. Serve and devour.

IMG_3075

IMG_3082

21 Day Fix container equivalents: 1G, 1 tsp for each green container of roasted veg.

What are your favorite ways to prepare your least-favorite vegetables?

Until next time,

Susanne

 

Leave a Reply

