#3: Simple salad

Several people on my Instagram feed (hey guys! *waves*) have asked me to share recipes for some of the meals that post there. This seems like the perfect venue to catalogue those recipes. You’ll find that most of them are extremely simple. I love to cook, but I get frustrated when there’s too much time between starting to prep and starting to eat. And given that our RV is limited in appliances and space, I tend to eschew fancy techniques that require extensive use of either.

Right now I’m posting many, many pictures of salad on Instagram. That’s because our RV is parked in south Texas. It’s between 100 and 105 degrees almost every day. There’s no way I’m bringing unnecessary heat into our rig if I don’t have to… Which leaves me with salads, smoothies, and raw food (we also make a lot of food outside in our magical InstantPot, but more on that later).

Beyond the convenience, I love salads because they’re loaded with fiber, phytonutrients, vitamins and minerals, even protein (yes, veggies contain protein! Cool, right?) All good stuff!

IMG_1326

Today I bring you my “recipe” for the simple salad I make several times a week. It’s perfect for lunch, but on some days we’ll eat it for dinner. You can use any variety of vegetables and fruits, meaning that it tastes different every time.

Simple Salad (makes 2-4 servings)

Ingredients:

  • 1 large packet of spring mix salad greens (organic, if you can swing it)
  • 1 to 1.5 cups chopped veggies: carrots, sweet peppers, tomatoes, cucumbers, etc.
  • 1/2 cup berries or chopped fruit (lends a pleasing sweetness to the salad)
  • Handful of toasted nuts (for crunch)
  • 1/2 avocado, cut into cubes (for creaminess and umami)
  • Optional: 1-2 tsp ground flaxseed

Instructions: Place the salad greens in a large bowl. I like to tear the leaves in half so they’re more bite-sized, but you don’t have to. Top with veggies, fruit, nuts, avocado, and – if you’re into it – ground flaxseed. Use salad tongs to gently toss the salad.

Personally, I don’t use salad dressing – it seems unnecessary with all of the different flavors and textures brought by the other ingredients – but if you prefer, you can toss the salad with 1-2 tsp olive oil, some cracked pepper, and a dash of salt.

21 Day Fix container equivalents (approximate): 2G, 1/2P, 1/2B, 1 tsp (if you use dressing)

If you have other ideas for healthy salad toppings, comment and share them so that I can try them!

Now go rock a salad,

Susanne

Leave a Reply

